THE LIGHT  Part (1)
BY SANDY DONALD

THE LIGHT Part (1) BY SANDY DONALD

Everyday I hear the voice of a certain man but I always Ignore him like i’ve done for many years.

I love to see my self as dark, not in color but inside. Everything just always feels so dark so accepted that is who I am. I wear black all day, I never want to be seen with bright colours because people may mistake me for a happy person. My sheets are covered in the darkest linen, my walls are black, all my clothings and literally everything around me is covered in black. Everyday is such a drag for me, I zoned out all my friends and family who constantly tell me how that certain man whose voice I hear, can help me.

One day I stopped to listen and heard the voice say to me “Hey, I see light”. Light? what light I wondered, there’s no light around me and there’s certainly no light in me. I turned up the volume of my music in a bid to tune out the voice, I was so sure I had escaped the voice and then I heard him say again “Hey, I see the light”. But how can this be? My past is dark, my future is heading towards darkness, I see no light , I feel no light and even the sun shines dark to me. I mean no one likes darkness but i know where i fit in. Strangely, in all this I felt unsaually calm, I felt so strange that I decided next time the voice comes back I’ll ask where he sees this light. As usual, the next day the voice came back and this time around I said Dear stranger, who are you ? where do you see the light? He replied and said, It is not far from where you stand, the light is inside of you, the sun shines bright but what you have is brighter. Darkness was taken out of light meaning light was before darkness. You are light, the past is darkness and your future in me is filled with light. You may not see it or feel it, but I am the source of all light and I see your light. Stop trying to dim your light, he said Stop trying to hide from your light The sun doesn’t shine when the rain comes but your light shines even when the storm arises . You see darkness because you look at yourself through the eyes of what you see in the world and in your past. Look at yourself through me, I am light and I have no darkness in me.

Those words sounded so pure and heavy I asked, Dear stranger, What makes you the light? Who are you?